Contact Us




Band Hands

1915 March

Foote Scholarship

CherylÕs Stuff





  (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),




  ga('create', 'UA-50390616-1', '');

  ga('send', 'pageview');




The Stern Scholarship funds have been concluded.

Please see the new Foote Scholarship that is now available for applicants.


Emil Stern played E-flat clarinet and was an inspirational member of the band for 20 years, playing his last concert at the age of 93.  During his time in the band, he actively welcomed and encouraged the youth who participated.  After EmilÕs death, his widow, Hulda Kopp Stern, made a generous donation to the band in his honor.  The band, in turn, decided to use the money to create a scholarship fund to carry on EmilÕs dedication to music, the band and our local youth.  Each time his scholarship is awarded Emil's spirit of openly encouraging young people to pursue their interest in music and his dedication to the local community is brought to all our minds.

Hulda Stern remained active in the administration of the fund until her death in January 2001.  As of June 2008, the SternÕs generosity has provided awards to 160 winners, totaling $52,600.

The scholarships were for:
¥  Nevada County students in the 5th through 8th grades
¥  Paying for music lessons, instrument purchases, or other approved music-related expenses

It was traditional to award the Emil and Hulda Stern Music Scholarships each year at a band performance to commemorate Emil SternÕs longtime association with the Band and his support of the musical arts.

Click here to see the 2008 scholarship application.  The deadline was May 2, 2008.  The final awards were be presented at the Sunday June 22, 2008 concert.

2008 Winners ($400 Awards)
Irvin Albano, Sierra Campbell, Alex Lay, Watson Meyer, Sarah Neff, Sarafina Smith, Dwight Struthers, J. Tobias (Toby) Thomas-Rose, Emma Wilson

2007 Winners ($400 Awards)
Front row left to right:  Sophia McKean, Alex Michael, Flannery Hild, Stephen Thomas Cobbe, Haley Luce, Avery Wick, Soraya Ebrahimi-Nuyen, Alexander Ramsey
Back row left to right:  Theresa Gollub (scholarship coordinator), Jim Kerr (band announcer), Cheryl Woldseth (band conductor)
Not shown: Daniel Goodnow

2006 Winners ($400 Awards)
Haylee Bodnar, Miles Campbell, Phillip Dileo, Maria Giuliani, Dylan Greist, Keaton Hild, Mattie Jones, Kendall Pawlowski, Hannah Rose, Jillian Smith, Billie May Thorpe

2005 Winners ($400 Awards)
Nicholas Batie, Abraham Fish, Matisse Geenty,Jeffrey Goodnow, Maximillian Nichols, Rosalind Parducci, Brooke Robinson, Dylan Rodrigue, Joseph Whittlesey
Not shown: Lizzie Edwards, Trevor Hall, Emma McAllister

2004 Winners ($400 Awards)
Stephen Cobbe, Phillip Di Leo, Daniel Goodnow, Flannery Hild, Matt Hysell, Carly Koontz, DJ Oustayan, Alicia Parker, Joe Perna. Sage Po

2003 Winners ($400 Awards)
Shasta L. Billings, Caleigh Jane Cos, Walker Davis, Teddy Marks, Bryan McAllister, Dan Nicholls, Lisa Quinlan, Keenan Smith, Nicolas Stuckey

2002 Winners ($400 Awards)
Alexandra Bauer, Wesley Leonard, Laurel Sophia Marks, Jacob Michael, Greg Rhodes, Gretchen Stevens, David Trethewey, Josh R. Colwell

2001 Winners ($400 Awards)
Chelsea Grace Claiser, Ryan Boykin, Nathan Basso, Jenny Harpainter, Amelia Lacey, Quinn Lathrop, Teddy A. Marks, Bryan McAllister, Christopher Palmer, Nichole Anne Ridgwell, Kaitlin Spak

2000 Winners ($400 Awards)
Lauren Bernadett, Kelsey Blagg, Shannon Buckley, Jesse Cloyd, Jacob Hernandez, Alicia Christina Jones, Lyell T. Marks, Thea Rose Mertens, Amber Faesilva Neely, Rachel Kathryn Savaloja, Jeremy Stevenson, Alyssa Marie Varty

1999 Winners ($300 Awards)
Lucas Forrest Chellew, Alina Hardin, Eric James Hysell, Olivia Saccomanno, Ashley Thurkow, Emily White, Zach Zyskowski

1998 Winners ($300 Awards)
Amy Renee Biggs, Erinn Clancy, Katherine Anne Dudney, Brian Jordan, Kari Kuykendall, Laura Parker, Amy Ridens

1997 Winners ($300 Awards)
Jessica Bamber, Kristoffer Greene, Jonathon Heinrich, Laura McKay, Luke Mertens, Shannon Turner, Sarah Wood

1996 Winners ($300 Awards)
Julie Bravard, Jonathan Brose, Lindsey Campbell, Amanda Hamner, Melody Lane, Sarah Rosellini, Alex Scammon, Eric Starr

1995 Winners ($300 Awards)
Meshawn Ayala, Angela Browning, Michelle Daniels, Celesta Falconi, Amar Georgeson, James Hollabaugh, Mara Simmons, Eva Veerkamp
1995 Winners (Special $150 Awards)
Audra Davis, Buzz Landon, Paula Ransom, Amber Valente

1994 Winners ($300 Awards)
Katie Armstrong, Mark Biggs, Samantha Collins, Erin Paul, Alex Scammon, Abe Sitzer, Aindrea Sparks, Katie Weisberg
1994 Winners (Special $150 Awards)
Kelly Goodknight, Melissa Tully, Kelly Vanderhoof, Aiyana Worden

1993 Winners ($300 Awards)
Matthew Baldoni, Mike Boon, Shannon Campbell, Shannon Garrity, Pascal Mickelson, Eva Schlanger

1992 Winners ($300 Awards)
Joy Drew, Lily Gicker, Rebekah Ramsaur, Rebecca Tout
1992 Winners (Special $50 Awards)
Matthew Baldoni, Megan Dickson, Kris Larsen, Joy Anne Moses, Eva Schlanger, Shannon Torrigino

1991 Winners ($200 Tuition Awards to Sierra Music Camp)
Django Atkinson, Emma Jane Betts, Jesse Locks

1990 Winners ($200 Awards)
Bryant Brendanini, Cynthia Hansen, Larry Huntington, Terry Huntington